Rally For C-290 Will Take Place at Charles and Clark Square Friday June 14th 10 am

[WINDSOR] A broad coalition of supporters including community leaders from both business and labour will be officially participating in a rally to promote the passage of an NDP Private Member's bill that would allow provinces to roll out single event sports betting products in their jurisdictions. The coalition is unified behind a single message: Pass C-290 now!

Attending the rally in an official capacity will be Brian Masse NDP M.P. (Windsor West) the current lead for the legislation on the NDP Private Member's Bill as well as Kevin Laforet CEO for Caesar's Windsor, Matt Marchand Chair of the Windsor/Essex County Regional Chamber of Commerce, Dino Chiodo President CAW local 444 and Paul Burns Vice President of the Canadian Gaming Associaiton.

Brian Masse talked about the breadth of support for C-290: "It's really a unique circumstance to see both Labour and Business on the same side strongly supporting the same piece of legislation. It speaks to the strength of the proposal and the urgency to pass C-290 immediately."

Matt Marchand President and CEO of the Windsor-Essex Regional Chamber of Commerce noted the positive effect this legislation could have for border casinos across Canada: "The economic impact that this bill could have across Canada could be significant. This legislation will give provinces the opportunity to develop gaming products that could give border city Casinos a competitive advantage over their competitors in the US."

Dino Chiodo-President of CAW Local 444 talked about the need to protect and grow the nearly 300 000 jobs in the gaming sector in Canada: "The gaming sector is the largest employer in the entertainment industry in Canada. In our community alone my Local counts 2700 members at Caesars Windsor. Passing C-290 will help to sustain and create new good paying jobs in our community directly in that facility and across Canada."

The rally will take place at the Friday June 14th at Charles Clark Square-speeches to begin at 10 am.